Eine Kleine Nachtmusik

by stevkoc

       Mozart’s Eine Kleine Nachtmusik is probably one of my favorite compositions out of all of the pieces we have encountered thus far in Music 030. When I first listened to this piece as part of our listening homework assignment, I realized that I recognized the tune and had heard it several times before. I remember watching Baby Einstein as a toddler and hearing this piece along with other compositions composed by Mozart. In addition, I performed this song with my high school concert band and enjoyed the rhythmic drive that it employed. Now, I greatly appreciate this piece because I have realized that its homophonic texture produces clarity that is memorable and soothing. The sense of balance in this piece is satisfying. Whenever I am stressed, I listen to Eine Kleine Nachtmusik because it has a calming effect and always brightens my mood.

    I decided to complete some research about Eine Kleine Nachtmusik and discovered that the title is German, translating to “a little serenade.” Now that I am aware of the translation of the title, I have come to understand how this piece can have a serenading effect. I also learned that this work is written for an ensemble of two violins, a viola, and a cello with an optional double bass. Even though there is a recommended form of instrumentation for this piece, I enjoy hearing different versions that sometimes involve unexpected instruments. For example, I found a video on Youtube in which a guitarist played Eine Kleine Nachtmusik. I thoroughly enjoyed his performance appreciate how he preserved the clarity involved in the original performance. I was very impressed that this guitarist was able to play the piece so effortlessly and smoothly even though it involved such a rapid pace. Here is the link to that video so that you can all enjoy it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtsAWMT-1sQ

I also encountered a recording of an ensemble performing Eine Kleine Nachtmusik in the style of salsa. It is amazing to see the various ways in which a piece of music can be interpreted and performed. Here is the link to that video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGrAYt2gtks

Since Professor Dolan is a cellist, I decided to search for a performance of Eine Kleine Nachtmusik that involved a cello. In the last video for which I have provided a link, a flutist plays Mozart’s tune with a cellist. While watching this performance, I appreciated how the high pitched flute was able to blend with the deep sound of the cello. Just like the guitarist, both of these performers were able to play the piece effortlessly while establishing the homophonic texture typically associated with this work.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WkdbBehfu9U

I hope you are able to view some of these performances because they are all spectacular and will deepen your appreciation of this piece. Let me know which performance was your favorite out of these three and why you particularly enjoyed it!

