Listening and Visualizing the Music of Bach

by briansc2013

While exploring some of Bach’s Preludes and Fugues, I came across many different versions and interpretations. My favorite discovery was one creative and interesting version of The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1, Fugue in C Major.  I did not find this interpretation particularly virtuosic or incredible – but I love the way it was presented. The computer-generated images that accompanied the playing really helped me to follow the way the fugue was being shaped. As a visual person, it helped to see the different lines and colors representing each melodic voice. This visual aid is especially helpful in this fugue where the entries enter in quick succession towards the end of the piece. You can see the first stretto come in as soon as the exposition is complete and then Bach never looks back. I thought the sheet music on the upper left hand corner was helpful too.  Granted this player is no Glenn Gould, but I really enjoyed how the fugue was presented. It is just another way in which we can appreciate the beauty of the music of Bach.

This user also has uploaded many other similar videos.  Many of the other uploads are also Bach pieces. I found it very easy to become hypnotized by the combination of the beautiful music and captivating visuals. The video for the Prelude in C Major is also worth checking out. The visual provides the bowing the player uses. This again is not my favorite version of the song because I feel it is too slow and there is to much ritardando but the visual is really cool.

